Home > Uncategorized > AMTEA Business Meeting at ACTM, October 2015

AMTEA Business Meeting at ACTM, October 2015

AMTEA members participated in a pre-session at the Alabama Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ACTM) annual conference in October 2015. During the pre-session, members discussed important issues (edTPA, Praxis, Alabama Mathematics, Science, and Technology Initiative (AMSTI) collaboration and certification for teacher candidates, and the elementary mathematics specialist certification) and brainstormed the role of AMTEA with these issues.

AMTEA also held its annual board meeting at the close of the ACTM conference. The following positions were filled: Dr. Megan Burton (president elect), Dr. Kyolo Johns (member at large), and Dr. Diane Porter (secretary). These members will join the existing leadership team: Dr. Stefanie Livers (president), Dr. Tommy Smith (immediate past president), Drs. Justin Boyle and Shelia Ingram (members at large), Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski (treasurer), and Dr. Gary Martin (webmaster). AMTEA plans to hold a special meeting in the spring that will include an edTPA expert related to mathematics education.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: